Posted by: RaeAn | 21 August 2010

It’s the little things in life…

A lot has happened since my last update, but mostly a lot of little things… and the little things are kind of awesome, so I’m okay with that.

On the 12th, I went to the International Artists’ Fair, in the Artists’ Colony/Sultan’s Pool in Jerusalem. It was great… I was hoping to find a necklace or a pair of earrings, but nothing spoke to me (which, if you know me at all, is very strange: I can always find a piece of jewelry I like…). I did get a dress, a shirt, and a book, though! The dress is a gorgeous blue strapless dress from a local artist; the shirt is a purple knit sleeveless shirt from Uraguay, with silver accents. The book is fantastic, though:

The title is "Shnay Aba'im," which means "Two Daddies!" It's a children's book. The author write, illustrates, and binds her books herself. She makes children's books that deal with atypical topics (such as death of a loved one, how bodies work, and this one about different types of families). It's a great little book.

There was also an Achinoam Nini concert (she’s known as “NOA” outside of Israel, though) at the fair. Talk about a phenomenal artist….

My friends and classmates Sari, Jay, Susie and myself at the concert.

Achinoam Nini performing!

That was last Thursday… last Friday, I went to services at Kol haNeshama, a Reform synagogue in Bacca (about 30 minute walk from my apartment), for Pride Shabbat. The service was so-so… didn’t really incorporate anything “pride”-y into it, but it was a decent service. Probably won’t be worth the 30-minute walk on a regular basis, though. After services, I grabbed a Sheirut to Tel Aviv and spend the weekend there seeing Gal and Chuck, then met up with some girls from class for a women’s (read: lesbian) party on Saturday night. That was also fun… not quite as much as I’d worked myself up to, but fun nonetheless!

At some point I also went shopping… I went to the mall with some classmates, picked up some practical things… like school supplies. My favorite purchases, however have to be these:

I finally got a lounge chair for my balcony! Now I can chill out there, read a book, tan, or whatever I want... far more comfortably than before.

...and a veggie chopper! This makes my life about 108723498732 times easier, since I cook so much and chop veggies all the time to do it. Best 139NIS I've ever spent.

Also this week, on Wednesday: Beer festival! Several of us went to the Jerusalem Beer Festival. Good beer, good friends, and good times all around.

Me with my pint of whatever it that I decided to buy in the end. It was decent. I liked some other beers better, but this one came in a nicer glass, so it's the one I took a picture of.

For the record, my shirt says, “Do something with your life: Get me a beer.” It’s really only appropriate for two occasions: St. Patrick’s Day and Beer Festivals. I’m glad I got some use out of it already. 🙂

Last night, we went to Congregation Har-El for services. It’s the first synagogue I’ve been to in Israel (besides at HUC itself) where I genuinely enjoyed the service. I have a feeling I’ll be making that my “regular” congregation. Even better: it’s super-close! Only 5 minutes away from my apartment. Win-win all around.

And I had people over for Shabbat dinner afterward… Chuck came to town, I made kugel and fresh lemonade, Brian brought homemade challah, and others brought other deliciousness to share, while we sat on my balcony eating and drinking wine and chatting. Good times — thanks to all who came, and to those who couldn’t come, next time! (If I didn’t invite you, I’m sorry — I was trying to get invites out in person, but I didn’t bump into everyone in person, so I’m sorry if I missed you… we’ll do another one!)

And that’s about it for now. Last week of Ulpan starts tomorrow… then a 5-day break, and the semester begins. We found out our class schedule on Thursday… oooh boy, this will be a busy year. But let’s hope it’s a good one!

I’m off to get Chinese food with Chuck before he heads back to Tel Aviv. Shabbat Shalom and Shavua Tov!

L’hitra’ot,

~ Rae

Responses

  1. […] It’s the little things in life… « Rae in Jewland […]

    • I’m not sure how I managed to get a trackback from a Christmas song post… but whatevs. In the name of pluralism, I approved this comment/trackback. Enjoy the 2 extra hits you’ll get as a result of my permitting it through. 🙂 Ha.

      Also, how do I have the exact same smile next to my veggie chopper and next to my beer? That’s weird.


Leave a Reply

Categories

