Posted by: RaeAn | 3 February 2011

Crisis Averted!

Thank you to everyone who emailed and messaged me through various media about the attempt to redefine rape in Congress, and also to all the new people who came to my blog for info… this blog had a record number of hits over the past two days, so thanks guys for passing on the post to others and helping to raise awareness of the issue and what to do about it!

Thankfully, the biggest part of issue has abated, and the terms “forcible rape” have been removed from the bill’s language:

TPM: Report: Republicans Give Up on Redefining Rape

Politico: ‘Forcible Rape’ Language to Change

Thank you to all of you who wrote and called and passed on the information. Even if your letter doesn’t get there until now or later, the fact that you wrote still can help let your Representative(s) and Senators know that such an attempt outrages their constituents so they don’t try to pull this s&*t again.

Also, much thanks to Jon Stewart, who is credited with raising awareness through his show which apparently caused a massive backlash and placed enough pressure on legislators that he was cited as a main reason they pulled the language. See the original segment on it on The Daily Show’s website — it’s fantastic. Kristin’s sarcasm is wonderful and so on-point. I loved Jon Stewart before, but he’s #1 in my book now. Thanks for making it a priority to stand up for us, Jon!

Of course, the overall bill is still bad news in my book. Basically, what’s going on is that they’re trying to take a bill that already exists on the books (that federal funding can’t pay for abortion except in cases of rape, incest, and when the mother’s life is in danger) and make it permanent. Right now, it needs to be renewed every year; this bill would put it on the books without the need for renewal. So while it really doesn’t change much of anything from the current status quo, it’s still a small step backwards for the Pro-Choice movement, and it’s no secret that I strongly support the right to choice.

Bear in mind, my Conservative readers and friends, I’m not pro-abortion. I’m just pro-letting-doctors-and-women-figure-out-what’s-best-in-each-situation, and I don’t think “rape, incest, and when the mother’s life is in danger” are the only situations in which a woman on Medicaid might genuinely need an abortion and be unable to afford it without help from her insurance provider, which happens to be the government. Plus it leads to all sorts of cases in which the woman has to fight in court to get her case defined as one of the three situations. (How much in danger must the woman’s life be before the money can come through? What if the police don’t believe her when she reports the rape, a situation which happens far too often in American society? Or the police do, but the judge or jury don’t? What if she doesn’t report the rape in time to have an official file opened up because she’s too traumatized to seek help right away, like what happened in my case? By the time the proceedings go through, she might be too far along to get a legal abortion, thanks to Bush Jr. making third-trimester abortions wholly illegal now. I’m sure there are even fuzzy incest cases, but I don’t know enough about the laws and limits regarding incest to think of a plausible grey-area case right now.)

Babies are an important part of society, I get that. I even agree with it. But what the Anti-Choice camp often forgets is that women are also an important part of society, and there’s no way to legislate regarding abortion that will draw a clear enough line between the “okay” and the “not-okay” abortion cases out there. There are too many grey areas. That’s why I’m so strongly opposed to any legislation restricting access to abortion, since we don’t know every single woman’s individual situation, nor can we, legally: those details are generally confidential, privileged information between her and her doctor.

That, and as The Daily Show pointed out, each taxpayer only paid $0.002 last year for abortions which the government funded for these women in such horrible situations. That’s two-tenths of a cent. I don’t even want to think about how much of my tax money went toward the various wars we’re sticking our hands in. And I’d much rather pay for a woman’s health care than for guns any day.

I have religious reasons based on my Jewish faith that led me to my Pro-Choice leanings, also, but I think I’ve ranted enough for now.

Again, a big thank-you to all of you who spoke out and passed on the word! You’re all my heroes. <3.

If I can stay awake long enough to write it, you should get a my-life update sometime soon, too, so stay tuned.

Todah Rabah,

~ Rae

Responses

  1. Now that the crisis is averted, life update please! Plus, I want to hear about your boy *giggles*


Leave a Reply

Categories

