Posted by: RaeAn | 20 February 2011

Lookie, I’m a *Real* Blogger Now!

Wow. I just got back from an amazing trip to the south… I’m working on my post on that trip and once the finishing touches are put on it, I’ll post it.

But first, I just want to brag: my first blog post with New Family has been posted! It was a few days ago, but I’ve been in the middle of the desert for several days now, so I’m sorry I didn’t inform you all sooner.

So my first post as a monthly blogger on another blog has been posted. I’m working on my next post for them, which will be posted next month, I assume… but my first one is up and I’m all giggle and excited and you should be too.

New Family is an Israeli organization that works for family rights, specifically for non-state-sanctioned families, including same-sex couples, single-parent families, interfaith families, non-Orthodox Jewish families, and so on. The only way to get “full” marriage in Israel is a religious marriage through the most “observant” form of your religion — so if you want a Reform wedding, it won’t be recognized in Israel right now. You can obtain a civil marriage, for which you go abroad, get married, and bring your marriage certificate here and register with the government… but it’s not the same as a religious marriage. It’s complicated. And essentially, New Family is working to allow families to organize themselves however life leads us to do so and keep religion out of it for those who don’t want it

I think New Family is doing some great work, so check out my writing for them and the rest of their English website!

In Wisdom and Beauty

Check it out, comment, and spread it around — family rights have a long way to go in this country, and I’m proud to have even a tiny role in the fight!

And yes, my desert wanderings will be posted within 24 hours. Promise.

Responses

  1. You sound really great and taking up another cause that is so important to you is wonderful. I never know where you get the time and energy. It is wonderful that after all the angst about the post-college “what to do” you have found a place that is so “you.” Hope you are feeling well also. Lisa


Leave a Reply

Categories

