Posted by: RaeAn | 13 March 2011

I’m Published Again!

My most recent blog post for New Family is now online — read my piece and spread the word about the work we need to do for family rights in Israel!

Enough is Enough: Put Family First
by Rae Antonoff on NewFamily.org.il

I might even have time to write a post for this blog sometime, too, if I manage to catch up on enough homework tonight. (Exciting, right?)

In other news on a feminist-y personal note, I just found out that my birth control is available here (without insurance coverage) for only 68 shekels for 70 days’ of pills. That’s cheaper than I can get it in the US. With insurance. Sometimes I’m happy with the health care system here. American birth control providers, step it up: Israel isn’t even subsidizing any birth control because it’s apparently not in the state’s interest to prevent people from making more babies… and it’s still dirt-cheap. Get on that, American health providers: birth control is an invaluable product for some of us who need them to remain healthy!

So not only will be there no babies (or not-having-enough-hormones-in-me problems) for me, but I also can afford pills. Well, these pills at least. The fibromyalgia ones… ugh. Don’t even get me started on how much I’m paying for those shenanigans since none of it is covered by insurance, including the doctor appointments. But there is some hope for Israeli health care, it seems.

That’s all for now.

Shavua tov!

~ Rae

Leave a Reply

Categories

